The international REDD+ mechanism is currently being prepared or implemented in over 60 countries worldwide. REDD+ projects are well-underway in Africa, the Asia-Pacific, the Caribbean and Latin-America. 

A REDD Country Participant is a developing country located in a subtropical or tropical area that has signed a Participation Agreement to participate in the Readiness Fund. Forty-seven developing countries have been selected to join the FCPF (18 in Africa, 18 in Latin America, and 11 in the Asia-Pacific region). The thirty-six countries that were selected to join the FCPF at its inception have signed the Participation Agreement. The eight additional countries that were selected to join the FCPF in December 2013 are currently in the process of signing the Participation Agreement. 

The following map shows country participants worldwide.

 = REDD+ projects           = REDD+ supporters



The Caribbean and Latin America

Next to Suriname, the following regional countries in the Caribbean and Latin America are working with the REDD+ mechanism.

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru

Please read all about other REDD+ partner countries and their status on: